More beef: Flank Steak

I bought some really nice flank steaks at Trader Joe’s yesterday.  While I was there I saw that they have tri-tip steaks!!  That is the first time I have seen that cut of meat for sale on this side of the country.   I didn’t buy one, but now I know where to go when I need one!

I marinated the steaks for 6 hours in worcestershire sauce, olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper.   Then seared in a hot pan for 4 minutes on each side.  It was a little too bloody, so after slicing I seared each slice again for about 30 seconds on each side.

Served ontop of iceberg lettuce and spinach with guacamole, salsa, and cilantro.

My Salsa Recipe

  • 1 serrano pepper
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 1/2 medium sweet onion
  • 1 14oz can diced tomatoes (I used Muir Glen Organic Fire Roasted)
  • handful fresh cilantro
  • a few shakes of sea salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon lime or lemon juice
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

1. Roast the garlic in the tablespoon of olive oil on the stove for about 10 minutes.  Keep the temperature around 1 or 2 so it doesn’t brown too fast.  Burnt garlic is gross….

2. Dice peppers, onion, cilantro.

3.  Throw all ingredients in a blender (including garlic and the olive oil from the pan) and blend until it is the consistency you like it.

– Tracy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

