Steak and Cabbage

Cooked an easy dinner tonight, barbecued steaks and cabbage.

This cabbage turned out a lot better than last time.  I started off with 2 slices of bacon in the pan and half a yellow onion diced.   I broke up the bacon once cooked and then added a full head of chopped up cabbage.  I was cooking the rest of my package of bacon in another pan and drained off some more bacon fat into my cooking cabbage.  You can also add butter or coconut oil.  Then I seasoned with salt and pepper and waited for it to soften and also get a little crispy around the edges. 

Last Sunday I made carnitas!  I saw Paleo Adventure had tried out a recipe for this on her blog and was inspired to try it myself.  It was a  little more work than just throwing it in the crock pot.   It required first browning the pork on the stove to get that outer crispiness started.  Totally worth the extra work though!  I ate it on a bed of mixed greens with salsa and guacamole on top.

Hamburger patty with fried egg on top with a side of bacon and fresh strawberries.

I saw these at the farmer’s market on Saturday and had to try them.  They were seriously the best strawberries I ever ate.  They were red to the middle and the perfect amount of sweetness.

Spaghetti used to be a regular on my menu.. I love making pasta sauce!  This was my first time making paleo spaghetti.  The sauce was made with ground Italian sausage, 1 can Muir Glen organic fire roasted diced tomatoes, chopped canned artichoke, chopped celery and carrot, baby portabella mushrooms, onions, garlic, seasonings, and fresh basil.   And served on top of zucchini which I sliced with a peeler and then lightly sauteed in olive oil with fresh basil.

And before bedtime, a cup of Natural Calm magnesium tea with a fresh mint leaf.   🙂

– Tracy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Steak and Cabbage

  1. Your carnitas turned out great!!! Looks better than mine! Your paleo spaghetti looks really good, I may have to try making that now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

