Paleo foods

 

We’ve been eating probably 90% paleo over the past two weeks, but after reading Robb Wolf’s book The Paleo Solution, we’re going to give 100% paleo a try for 30 days!

Here’s some things I’ve been eating…

Very tender beef that was cooked in crock pot with onion, garlic, baby portabella mushrooms.  With spinach and french green beans.  I got the green beans at Trader Joe’s in the freezer section, they were really good!

Another crock pot dinner..  sausage stuffed pepper cooked in diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings and lots of garlic.  Served on fresh spinach with raw milk cheddar.

One of my favorites.. hamburger wrapped in iceburg lettuce with Annie’s Naturals brand organic dijon mustard.

I love Larabars!  They have no additives or preservatives and contain only a few real food ingredients which include nuts, fruits, and spices.   They come in many different flavors and everyone I’ve tried is good.  My favorites are Ginger Snap, Cherry Pie, and Lemon Bar.  I wish I could eat these every day, but their one downside is that they have a high sugar content because the base ingredient in most of them is dates.   So I only have one maybe once a week but keep them on hand for emergency snacks.

– Tracy

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Paleo foods

  1. Bean says:

    Good for you for going 100% paleo! What do you find is the hardest thing about eating that way?

  2. Going 100% is reeeeally hard unless you don’t eat out at all. Good luck!!

    • Thanks! After going gluten-free we learned how to be more questionative and selective when eating out. And now when I go out to eat my safe choice is usually a steak with a dressing-less side salad or vegetable. I used to love eating out, but now I really prefer eating at home cause I know that my food is safe!

  3. Hellopaleo says:

    Yummy! Your beef in the first pic looks delish, would love to see your recipe. I keep butchering beef in my crockpot – I can’t cook it to save my life. 😦

    I’ve been eating TONS of Larabars – almost one a day – and that might explain why I haven’t lost more weight! I didn’t even think about the sugar – good note!

    • Thanks! And how do you mess up food in a crock pot?? Does it come out dry or too tender? For the steak all I did was use a chuck shoulder (any type of steak would work i think..) with 1 cup of gluten free chicken broth, a few tablespoons olive oil, 1/2 an onion or so chopped, some chopped baby portabellas, and 4 or 5 whole garlic cloves. Season with salt, pepper, rosemary, … Then put the lid on and cooked for 8 hours.

      I usually don’t use a recipe. Just add some meat, about a cup of liquid (chicken broth, beef broth, water if using lots of vegetables and seasonings). You need enough liquid so that it won’t dry up, maybe about half an inch deep. Then add some vegetables that can handle being cooked for a long time and a generous amount of seasonings.

      Good luck with the crockpot! And I would love to eat a larabar everyday, they taste like dessert!

      • Hellopaleo says:

        The three times I’ve made beef (chuck roasts) in the crockpot, they’ve turned out pretty dry. I bought one of those big packs from Costco that had two roasts in it – and I cut each one along the grain in half and froze it. It’s just my husband and I, so I didn’t want to make too much. Do you think that’s what I did wrong? Do I need a bigger cut of meat?

        It’s strange because I was troubleshooting this online and many people were saying that you need to be sure to not use too much liquid – that can dry the meat out, too. This last time I used very little liquid and it was already dry after 4 hours. Yikes.

  4. lackingfunds says:

    That stuffed pepper looks particularly fabulous!! So how’s the new diet working out?

    http://wheatfreeliving.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

