We’re still here!

It’s been quite a while since either of us last posted. While we’ve been away we have done more experimenting and are now going beyond gluten free to eating more paleo.  The paleo diet consists of: meat, seafood, vegetables, fruits, nuts, and certain oils (coconut, olive, lard…).   We have been doing it for about 2 weeks now and are feeling great.  It really wasn’t much of a leap since we had already cut out a lot of things when we went gluten free.

Here’s some pictures of my recent meals:

Last night’s dinner: Salmon with pancetta and capers, sweet baby broccoli, sweet potato fries, and avocado slices.  I love that sweet baby broccoli so much more than regular broccoli!

Tonight’s dinner: Beef, bell pepper and onion stir fry and kale chips.

Tomorrow’s breakfast and lunch:  Top container – hamburger patty with shredded cheddar cheese.  Middle – Leftover beef and pepper stir fry.  Bottom – Scrambled eggs and sausage.

Dessert:  Green apple slices, blueberries, and chunky peanut butter.  I recently learned that peanuts are not nuts–they are legumes.  So peanut butter is not paleo, but I don’t want to waste any food, so I am also finishing up my peanut butter!

– Tracy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to We’re still here!

  1. kitchentutor says:

    WELCOME BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Missed you guys!! This diet sounds interesting… you both have great self discipline to follow this! I’m kind of addicted to food documentaries. Have you seen Food Matters? Pretty good… they promote the Gerson therapy, which focuses on whole foods and juicing. Anyway… I’m just excited to ‘hear’ from you ladies! Glad you are feeling well on the new diet adventure!

  2. Bean says:

    Good for you guys! All your meals look super tasty! I’m excited to read more about your adventures in this new type of eating! 🙂

  3. I love seeing other people discover the paleo diet! You will feel better and better every day. A lot of paleo people don’t consider sweet potatoes or nightshade veggies like peppers to be paleo. The most important thing is to cut out all grains, I think arguing over which veggies are paleo is unnecessary. There’s another way of eating called primal that allows dairy. That might appeal to you more if you really like cheese. I find that I feel better when I’m mostly paleo, but I eat some dairy every once in a while without repercussions. Eating grains again is a different story! Have fun with your paleo journey!

    • Hi paleoadventure,
      We are loving it so far! It wasn’t too difficult cutting out all grains since in January we had already cut out all gluten. I knew sweet potatoes were questionable, but I didn’t know nightshades were too. I’ll have to read more about that, I eat a lot of bell peppers!

      Right now we are still eating a little diary, only butter and cheese though. We were dairy-free for about 2 months after going gluten-free and did not notice much of a difference in the way we felt. We will probably give it another try though now that we are eating paleo.

      Well thanks for coming to our blog! We love reading other paleo blogs too to get ideas on what to eat and see how it changes peoples lives!

Leave a Reply

