Spaghetti and Meatballs

Mmmm…. meatballs… 🙂 When our brother Eric and sister-in-law Lindsey were coming to visit last weekend I wanted to make a tasty dinner that I could prepare ahead of time and that everybody would enjoy.

Spaghetti and meatballs is a family favorite.  My dad has been making the same spaghetti recipe since we were little.  I remember when he taught me how to make it, and the first time I did it all on my own I was so proud that I made Dad’s spaghetti just as good as his!

Here is how I made my meatballs..

Gluten Free and Dairy Free Meatball Recipe

This recipe is based off of a few different GF meatball recipes and my favorite Better Homes and Garden’s recipe I used before going GF.

  • 1 lb ground beef (I used locally raised beef)
  • 3/4 cup corn grits  (I used Bob’s Red Mill Corn Grits)
  • 1/2 onion diced
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon parsley
  • Salt and pepper

1. Mix the corn grits with about 2 – 3 tablespoons of water to moisten.

2. Mix ground beef, corn grits, onion, garlic, egg, and seasonings together in bowl. I find it is easiest to mix with my hands, but you can use a spatula or spoon too.

3. Form 1 – 2 inch balls depending on how big you like them.   Place on cookie sheet and bake in oven at 400 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes until browned.

So.. these are a little too brown.  I kind of got side tracked doing the dishes and forgot them in the oven.  But once I added them into the spaghetti sauce they were perfect!

– Tracy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

