Tracy’s Smoothie

We love making smoothies! They are a delicious, filling, and nutritious meal.

Here’s what I put in today’s:

  • 1/4 cup Kefir (peach flavor)
  • 1 cup frozen wild blueberries
  • 2 handfuls of organic baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup 100% carrot juice
  • 1/2 cup Naked Mighty Mango juice
  • strawberries
  • 1/3 of a banana
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds

I usually use some kind of 100% juice or yogurt for the smoothie base.  My regular is Dole Orange Pineapple Banana juice, but the Naked juice was a good price at Walmart so I am using that this week.  I also like using carrot juice because it is only 35 calories for half a cup and is a great source of vitamin A.

I love adding spinach to smoothies, because you cannot even taste it and it is a good way to get in a big serving of greens!  I got a freezer full of fresh frozen berries, peaches, and mango chunks, so I can mix up my flavor combination when I get bored.  Using frozen fruit is good because you don’t have to worry about using it up right away!

Blueberries and orange colored juices make a very lovely brown smoothie..

That’s how I like my smoothie,  Katie will be posting her smoothie version soon too!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tracy’s Smoothie

  1. abbyrex2323 says:

    That looks great. We do a smoothie every morning that is pretty similar. We typically use kale a touch of coconut milk, carrots, cucumbers, cinnamon, and a handful of berries or pineapple. Our two little boys love it too.

  2. Thanks! I’ll have to try using Kale sometime, that would be good too! How do you add your carrots? Do you chop up a whole carrot and add it in the blender? I’ve thought about adding shredded carrots before but wasn’t sure how that would work out.

  3. kitchentutor says:

    Hi there! Thanks so much for leaving a comment on my blog! I’ve been checking out your blog and am sooo excited to find another GF blog that has recipes I want to try!!! Would you mind if I link up your blog to my blogroll??? I love your background too 🙂

Leave a Reply

